Hiking after Templestay

I was actually looking forward to my first hike in Korea under the templestay program. But it was cancelled as coordinator mentioned the ground were icy and slippery. However, me and 3 other foreigner templestay mates (Kelvin, Stephanie and Emily) decided to attempt a hike to the “peak”. Packing our belongings and got it temporary kept in the office. We enquire with Miss Yeosilan about the details of hike in the mountains. With the basic information, we just went ahead.

It was around 1.30pm when we started the hike. The trail is rather scary for me as my imagination goes wild. Some of the path are narrow and right at the edge of endless slope. About 30mins through the hike, we are at no peak. We stop by a frozen mini “waterfall” for a break. We chatted and seeing all the pro-hikers walking pass us, we had a good laugh at ourselves not properly equip for the hike. Some part of the rocks and ground is indeed slippery and dangerous. Well, we did get a good view on top and temple roof. After a while, we make our descend and went back to the temple office for our stuff. We bid Miss Yeosilan farewell and make our way to the bus stop.

photo-22 photo 2

Bukhansa trail map / Mini frozen “waterfall”

photo 2 photo 4 photo 3

The rocky and narrow path / Hikers enjoying the snacking break at the edge of a mountain rock

photo 5 photo 1

Views of temple roof and the real peak.

photo 3 photo 4 photo 1 photo 2

Descending through Mokjungool Cave just below Geumsunsa temple

Along the way, remember the awesome english-speaking ahjussi I mentioned at the eatery. Surprisingly, he was standing outside the store and saw us. He is so kind to invite us inside the eatery and treat us tea and Makkoli (Korean Rice Wine). The tea is the best beverage I had since I arrive in Korea. It’s a combination taste of lemon and citrus. It perfectly warms my heart in such cold winter temperatures. Another first time for me is drinking Makkoli, the taste turn out to be pleasant and gives a light sweetness. It’s taste lighter than Japanese Sake. Works well during winter day.

Having a short chat with the ahjussi, he mentioned he used to worked 15 years in construction around asia such as Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia which tells why he’s english is quite good. Showing my appreciation for his hospitality, I gifted him my lotus lantern. I really feel touched by his invitation gesture. Couldn’t thank him enough.

So once again, we bid farewell and hit the roads. Took the same bus 7212 back to town at Gyeongbukgung station and had tea time with Stephanie and Emily.  We say our goodbyes at the subway and I got back at the hostel around 5pm.

photo 3 photo 4 photo 5

Makkoli, Lemon Citrus Tea and side dishes at the eatery. / Thin ice forming along the water

Leave a comment