Day 6 : Climbing Mount Hallasan

The watch, iphone, imac alarm all rings at 5.15am. Yes, it’s been long time since I got to wake up this early so I need all 3 alarms to snooze me. Today I am going to embark on my FIRST-SOLO-REAL-MOUNTAIN-HIKING-ATTEMPT-TO THE PEAK. Haha, why I mentioned real. Cos in Singapore the highest we have is Bukit Timah Hill. (If you want to know how high is it, Google)

Anyway, reading up lots of fellow bloggers about their experience climbing Mt. Hallasan sort of preparing myself mentality for the hike. Physically I am not sure if I’m ready but I gotta start somewhere for the first time to know my threshold.

The night before, I have well-prep my newly brought crampons, trekking stick, snack-Kimbap, 3 bottle of energy water, winter gloves into my lightweight vaude backpack. (PS: Forget about packing your DSLR for first-time mountaineer) At around 5.45am, I left the hostel. It’s totally deserted  and quite dark on the street except for the lamppost lights. Luckily after 10mins in panic mode, I manage to flag down a cab. My destination – Jeju Bus Terminal.

It took around 5-10mins to reach Jeju Bus Terminal. Can’t remember the cab fare but 5-10mins ride should be around KRW3,000 – 4,000 (SGD$3.50 – $4.50). Arrive Jeju Bus Terminal at around 6.10am. Went straight to the counter and tell the lady, Seongpanak, Mount Hallasan. Paid KRW1,500 (SGD$1.75) and ran to platform 6 just in time for the 6.15am bus. The bus left on time and I chose the seat nearer to the door (Jeju bus only have single entrance and exit point). Next moment, I started to panic again, cos how would I know when to alight. Looking out the window in darkness, I turned and saw a lady asking her how long it takes to Seongpanak. She told me 30mins, which is the similar as HK Jeju staff has mentioned. I am delighted when I start hearing english announcement on the bus for each stop. Once again, I perked my ears like previously to Geumsunsa temple and listen to each announcement.

Finally I heard Seongpanak station aloud. Thanks God!!! The lady whom I ask also gave me a signal it’s the next stop. Really thank you to Jeju Bus PA system and the nice lady for making my bus journey a pleasant one.

Disembarked from the cosy warm bus, it’s a different world outside. The place is almost pitch black. Lights can be seen from the stand-alone rest station packed with enthusiasts hikers preparing their hiking equipments. Strong chill wind was blowing hard. Sand like particles under the illumination from the car headlamps were seen dusting on the ground. I did check the weather forecast the day before, it mentioned it will rain which luckily it did not. Instead it took me a while to realise the dust like particles are actually snowflakes. It’s SNOWING!!! It’s my first time seeing and experiencing snow fall. It’s definitely a memorable and breathtaking moment.

The sky starting to get brighter as I prep myself for my hike mission. As blur as usual with no english signage or directional indications, I ask the passerby hikers the entrance location of Seongpanak Trail. There I started my hike at around 7.20am.

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4 photo 5

The panic bus ride and hike at dawn breaks

There is 2 midway rest shelters for the hike to the peak. The first part of ascend to the Sokbat Sheler is not difficult, it took me around 1 hour and 10mins to reach the first shelter. Took a quick water replenishment in the crowded rest area and continue my part two ascend to Jindallaebat Shelter which took me 1hour and 25mins. The temperature is getting super cold up there. The weather is also changing erratically rough. Brought a small cup of hot coffee at KRW500 and bottoms-up my bottle of gatorade. I did not waste much time at the shelter. One particular reason, when my body rest, the cold get into me fast. So best is to keep moving so the body will keep warm.

photo 1 photo 5 photo 2

Ascend to Sokbat Shelter, light snowing

photo 3 photo 3 photo 1 photo 4 photo 5 photo 2 photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 3

Ascend to Jindallaebat Shelter, heavy snowing (time to put my crampons to work)

The final ascend to the peak is the toughest and scariest for me. The trail is steep for me. And with gale winds trying to blow me off almost give me cold feet to continue to my ascend. I was worried if I fell off the side of the trail. Nobody will know I’ve disappear. 😛 Not knowing how long more the route to the peak, I did tell myself what the hack. Giving up is not an option after so many hours. Before I knew it, Yes I reach Mount Hallasan Peak at 11.15am (Almost 4 hour climb one-way). Initially I don’t even realise I am at the peak because it’s a snow storm up there. There’s nothing to see beyond the mountain peak other then white snowy haze. (It’s different from the photos I saw on the internet.)

However it’s a top of the world feeling when I saw the wood crave structure and stone monument of Mount Hallasan. I did it, it’s something for myself, believing in one self. I only stay up for probably couple of minutes. Took a few photos with my iphone before it froze dead on me . The minus zero degree temperature at the peak was freezing every blood in my body. First time I had my eyelashes coated in white snow flakes. Because of the stormy weather, descend has to be on Seongpanak trail instead of the shorter Gwaneumsa trail.

photo 4 photo 5 photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

Peak of Mount Hallasan, SNOW STORM!!!

Descend is obviously faster but much painful to me. Every step gives a shock to the kneecap which hurts a lot. It took me 1 hour to return to the Jindallaebat Shelter. The place is now packed with hikers having their picnic gathering. Joining them, I had another cup of hot coffee and finished up my packet Kimbap in no time.  (Note: There are no dustbin at the shelters. All rubbish are to be bring down to the ground by the hikers and dispose)

The hike down is very beautiful. It’s like a white forest seen on TV or read through fairy tale. The path is now filled with snow apart from rocks during the ascend. Everything is just so perfect (except for the snow storm at the peak). LOL 😀  It took me total 3 hours 30 mins to touchdown at 2.40pm. So happy to see civilization and feeling burned out.

photo 5 photo 4 photo 2 photo 1 photo 1 photo 5

Descend back to a Jindallaebat Shelter packed with hikers / Do not know it means but the numbers and units I recognise

photo 4 photo 3 photo 2 photo 3 photo 2 photo 1

Descend after Sokbat Shelter, the crampons is a saviour

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

TOUCHDOWN!!! The Seongpanak Shelter look nicely in daylight.

Wanting to get back to the hostel faster, I decide to take a cab. Instead of going by meter, they treat me like carrot asking KRW28,000 (SGD$32). The normal amount by meter back to Jeju-si should be half of that price. Not agreeing with their touting manner, I walk to the bus station and took the ride back to Jeju Bus Terminal for KRW1,500 (SGD$1.74). I use the Seoul City Pass Plus to tap the payment. Everything is a breeze. As usual, arrive Jeju bus Terminal, took a cab back to hostel around 4pm.

Some information to share for Mount Hallasan:

Website: http://www.hallasan.go.kr/english/ 

DO read up the mountain rules. They have a trail time limit access for respective route to the peak. I did saw some foreigner hikers trying to persuade their way to hike up at Jindallaebat Shelter checkpoint at 1200hrs.  The entrance was barrier up and guarded hence no one is allowed.

Fellow honorable bloggers who provide great info for Mount Hallasan Hike

Touched by the S.Korean Hearts : http://baotravelkorea.wordpress.com/day-5-jeju-island-mount-hallasan/

Discovering Korea : http://discoveringkorea.com/090225/climbing-hallasan-mountain-on-jeju-island/

Peanuts Travel : http://peanutstravels.blogspot.sg/2010/02/mount-hallasan-jeju-south-korea.html 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Day 6 : Climbing Mount Hallasan

  1. Hi.. I love your article. As I will be planning for a solo hike from Gwanuemsa Trail and down through Seogpanak this month, I hope there will be no heavy snow like your experience.

  2. Pingback: Pre-Trip: Hallasan Solo Winter Hike (Yeongsil and Eorimok Trail) | The Funsize Xplorer

Leave a comment