THE REST OF THE DAYS… FIN

It has been 3 years and I did not update the posts for the remaining days of my trip. I can only remembered…., I was holidaying mood and relaxing lazy once I return back to Singapore, and the routine work just ain’t making the writing work.

Majority of my posts here are written on the day of the trip. Hence after my hike celebration, the rest of the trips is “physically occupied” from day to night. All I did was KO..meeting the ZZZ monster once return back to the hostels. Nevertheless, thinking back, this Korea solo vacation have gave me a new sense of independence and happiness that I will never exchange for anything.

I just want to share things that I did in summary for the remaining days. Hope it can help fellow travellers to consider as well.

Ok.. Time travel back to my memories.

One of the things I did for my aching muscles after Jeju Hike is attempt my first visit to the Jjimjilbang (Public Bath / Sanua). I did went to 2 different Jjimjilbang actually. The one in Korea, Seoul is much more, fun, pleasant and modern. For the Jeju Jjimjilbang… it’s like a neighborhood bath with senior citizens. hehe, imagine that 😀 

Got to note, to enter the female bathhouse, we have to be naked, yes bared naked with other ladies as well. A “culture” that I have never experience in Singapore. I do recalled the moment, the feelings of uncomfortable and embarrassment. but sincerely, after soaking into the hot tub… the rest is relaxation.

A must try at Jjimjilbang is the full body scrub down, exfoliation service. I never forget the Ah-Ma who did the “spa service” for me. Here she is, wearing leopard lingeries, with a bar of soap and a pair of scrubbing glove, perspiring away. The first couple of minutes of the scurb is painful loh and my skin turn red immediately. But bearing with it after a while, it was like massage and the dead skin just accumulates to …. something I do not believe, it existed from my body. LOL 😀 The end results is truly worth it, leaving my skin so soft and smooth. In summary, I will definately do it again if I travel to Korea again. 

the-spa-in-garden-5.jpg   lele34

Jjimjilbang recerational area and the trademark Towel Sheep Head as seen in the Korea dramas. PS: Dogs are not allowed. 

Another unforgettable event is the day before my flight home. Hike to Taebaeksan. It was a planned trip with one of the Korea hiking group, searched from meetup.com back in Singapore. Initial communication was quite breezy. When I arrive in Korea, following the directions and getting to the gathering place can be a little complicated especially in the wee morning when there’s hardly any humans to ask and language barrier can be a painful experience.

Nevertheless, the subway system in Seoul is superb. Similar to Singapore, just take note of the different exits and exchange between train lines. The walks between the train line can be quite a distance. Thank God. I did arrive on time and met up with the group. We boarded a chartered coach with full capacity of hikers enthusiastic coming from different countries.

It428853_10151219520204472_1212371721_n took us about a 2 hours drive. And weather was perfect when we arrive there !!! The season hikers of the group kept telling me I was lucky as seldom the weather is so beautiful. Indeed, I thought I was in heaven. Arriving the Exhilarating Peak… sights surrounding were Snowy white mountain, Clear blue sky, Bright shining sun and the Fluffy clouds were literally around us like a sea of marshmallows. The view is simply BREATHTAKING. God is Great… What I can’t experience at Jeju, Mount Hallasan, All is LOVE here at Mount Taebeaksan. Every moment filled with true happiness.

 

As we descend, the group have prepare black garbage bags, paper boards, anything with smooth surface and we were all like children sliding down on the slippery snow. The speed can be terrifying but awesome !!! Lastly they end the day with a late lunch barbecue (Yummy :*)  with Soju and in-bus Karaoke session on the return coach ride back to city. The experience with the local hiking group has been so truly Korean to me. Am impressive with their lively entertainment and drinking capability. hehe..  Most of all, the joy and friendship made through this trip. Miss you In Sun Eom !! 

457085_10151220232014472_262731787_o

Group Pic with All Smiles at the Peak !! 

Lastly the memory to complete the title of this blog “Running-Ros in Korea” as inspired from Running man. I manage to get a ticket and watch a LEESSANG concert. Yeah, got to see Gary.. haha. Gary do resembles someone I once fall in love dearly. Those squeaky eyes.. LOL ;P

Anyway, getting to the venue was the worst local travelling experience throughout the trip. As the concert was held at the grounds of a university. I need to transfer by bus to the destination after alighting from the subway. The “youngsters” around was not very helpful, probably the English language barrier, everyone was walking fast away from me when I say “excuse me”. haha… 😀 

Thankful with my follow-the-crowd instincts, Praise the Lord, I manage to find the venue in time. I was in awe when arriving the concert grounds. Lots of delicious tempting food tents and street vendors selling all kinds of concert stuff, especially colorful lights sticks. (Why Singapore concert not like this vibrant? They should consider having pasar malam at Kallang indoor stadium, LOL :D)

Along the way, lucky star shine upon me. I came across and met 2 Singaporean ladies. We met at the ticketing area while queuing up and taking selfies. We had a short chat about our passion for running man (hehe :D) and soon after headed off to our seating area. I recalled the whole concert experience, it was so happening and enjoyable. Although I do not understand the korean language. I did know the meaning of some of the songs through my earlier Leessang research on Youtube. Literally, I was on my feet almost the whole time, dancing along, cheering, and swinging the light stick along with everyone. haha. A day as a fan girl. :p

Once the concert ended, I met up with the Singapore ladies with the arranged location as agreed earlier. And with their angel guidance, I managed to get the right bus and headed to the subway for my return back to the hostel. What an awesome and blessed night in Korea.

200066_10151220254864472_1413416082_n

Link for my youtube video taken at the concert singing Santa Clause is coming to town.

That’s all for the end of my memorable Korea Solo trip. The rest of the time spent were shopping at Myeongdong, Lotte mart. Lots of facial products and bags, and love the fashion there. And oh yes, if you are staying in the hostel, ask the whoever at the reception and do a local order for the Jajangmyeon and Mandu. Their delivery sure is amazing fast and the food is so so good. (Drooling..) And when I have finish up, put the plates in the plastic bag and leave it outside the door. The delivery motorbike uncle will somehow come by to collect it.

Another thing I did is a one day Jisan ski tour with 546752_10151217413484472_1857174852_n‘learn to ski lesson’. Thank  you Lord for the wonderful time on that lovely blessed lucky day. As the sky starts to snow, what a view of floating snowflakes, sitting down at the cafe with a sip of hot chocolate and a bite of warm corn dog. And continued with the fearful adrenline rush of uncontrollable ski slide down the slope. haha 😀 Life is Great.

Falling is part of life. Important, is getting back up and living to the fullest knowing the Love of GOD is always there with me. 

~ FIN

 

Leave a comment