Day 5: Jeju Solo Tour Begins

After settling in my room, it’s time to explore the quiet streets of Jeju. Yes it is rather deserted, probably because I chose to visit Jeju on weekdays to avoid the weekend crowd. So exiting the hostel, decide to explore the nearby attraction points. Cannot stay up late tonight as I have a big “mission” tomorrow morning.

First up, I arrive at Black Pork Street (drooling….), at 3pm almost all the stores had yet to start business. It’s a street of irresistible food temptation. Thinking back I just simply can’t wait to sink my teeth into the juicy tender pork (drooling… again). Accordingly to the HK Jeju staff, she mentioned, the stores at black pork street will open around 5pm onwards.

photo 1 photo 3 photo 2

Cafe beside HK Jeju I Guesthouse / Jeju Palace hotel / Jeju Tourism Info Booth across the road

photo 2 photo 3

Turning into the street entrance looking across MacD / Lots of noodle stores at the small alley

photo 4 photo 1 photo 3

Black Pork Street!!!

As I walk straight on, there is HK Jeju II Guesthouse which is their newer establishment. My next stop is Dongmun Traditional Market. A must visit in Jeju. It’s a korean market full of culture, atmosphere and great food. The market is big with different sections, such as seafood, dry provision, meat, snacks stores, etc. A thing to note, I am not exactly a bargaining person, so do watch out some ahjumma trying to treat you like carrot and chop you. Do haggle and go around several stores to check the average price before purchase. At the end, I got myself a plate of sashimi, bottle of orange-flavoured makoli (Jeju famous for oranges) and a Jeju magnet souvenir total for around SGD$12. They do have a lot of street food carts selling korean pancakes, fish cakes, etc at the entrance of the Dongmun Night Market which is on the right side of the main entrance.. But due to my exploding tummy, I was unable to try any of them.

photo 4 photo 5 photo 2

HK Jeju II Guesthouse / An international food fair / Can someone tell me what is this button at the traffic light means?

photo 1 photo 3 photo 2

Dongmun Traditional Market and Night Market

photo 4 photo 5 photo 1

Jeju famous oranges, fresh seafood market and korean fermented side dishes, Kimchi

After my tour around Dongmun market, It’s time to head back to do some trek equipment shopping at E-mart (opposite of HK Jeju I guesthouse). Crossing the street towards Macdonald, I stop by the tourism info booth (Jeju Tourism : http://www.hijeju.or.kr/english/main.html) to grab a copy of the Jeju map. Despite the freezing weather I went on to check out the Jeju Seaside Walk. Having the strong chill wind and misty sea water smacking on my face, it turn out to be not a good idea. LOL. 😀 The roaring waves hitting on the rocks do makes me worry about the weather tomorrow.

photo 3 photo 4

Jeju Seaside Walk and the fresh seafood restaurants along the coast

photo 1 photo 2 photo 5 photo 3

Roaring waves and deserted seaside walk

photo 2 photo 5 photo 1

Jeju Seaside Art Centre modeled after the protective stone towers (Bang-Sa-Tap) [Click the picture to read more]

So I arrive at E-mart, with the security guard asking me to deposit my backpack at their free lockers. It’s really “free and easy” shopping at the supermarket with my load kept aside. Immediately heading to 2nd level, I check out the crampons(spikes for the shoes) and a trekking stick. Knowingly I will not be using the crampons after leaving korea so cheap cheap is what I’m looking for. After 30mins of walking back and forth through the trekking equipment section and plenty of self-explanation on why I should get this and not that, I finally got the “cheapest” items at the store. A POLAR brand crampon and a BEYOND Antishock trekking stick at total SGD$60.

At last it’s time to go back to hostel to have a early rest and prepare for my first ever mission mountain hike.

photo 3 photo 4 photo 5

My dinner and souvenir from Dongmun Market and take-away Kimbap for tomorrow trekking

One thought on “Day 5: Jeju Solo Tour Begins

Leave a comment